Deutsch

Accident research

GIDAS A successful project for the benefit of traffic safety

Accident research has contributed significantly to traffic safety improvements. GIDAS captures and thoroughly analyses around 2,000 accident data per year. The findings of these studies are integrated directly into automotive engineering, test procedures and other traffic safety sectors.

Three areas are generally critical when analysing an accident for the accident research: the accident scene, the vehicles and the passengers and/or involved persons.

The "German-In-Depth-Accident-Study” (GIDAS) is the most informative way for capturing accident data. It is a joint project of the Research Association for Automotive Technology (FAT), the Federal Highway Research Institute and the Technical University of Dresden.

Around 2,000 accidents are recorded annually for GIDAS in Hanover and Dresden. 500 to 3,000 individual data are captured per accident, like e.g. road layout, traffic control, crash information, circumstances of the accident and accident causes. This survey is complemented by personal information, like body weight, height, etc. All information is stored in an anonymised form in a database.

The data evaluation enables various applications. The use for the revision of laws, guidelines and standard e.g. allows for an adjustment of the modifications to the actual accident situation. The information also serves to describe suitable test procedures in the context of type approvals. The detailed findings can also help automotive manufacturers to further increase the safety level.

GIDAS can also provide valuable support for positioning traffic signs, poles and the like or even the layout of tree protection systems – for the sake of an ever improving traffic safety.

back to summary

First publication: 07.05.2008 Last modified: 27.01.2011

English

Unfallforschung

GIDAS ein Erfolgsprojekt der FAT im Dienste der Verkehrssicherheit

Die Erfolge bei der Verkehrssicherheit sind zu einem bedeutenden Teil der Unfallforschung zu verdanken. Mit GIDAS werden jährlich rund 2.000 Unfalldaten erfasst und akribisch analysiert. Erkenntnisse dieser Studien fließen unmittelbar in die Automobilentwicklung, Prüfverfahren und andere Sektoren der Verkehrssicherheit mit ein.

Grundsätzlich sind drei Bereiche bei der Analyse eines Unfalls für die Unfallforschung von entscheidender Bedeutung: die Unfallstelle, die Fahrzeuge und die Insassen bzw. Beteiligten.

Die informativste Art der Unfalldatenerhebung ist die "German-In-Depth-Accident-Studie" -  kurz GIDAS. Sie ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Forschungsvereinigung Automobiltechnik (FAT), der Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen (BASt), der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover und der Technischen Universität Dresden.

Für GIDAS werden in Hannover und Dresden jährlich ca. 2.000 Unfälle erfasst. Pro Unfall werden im Mittel über 3.000 Einzelinformationen gesammelt, z.B. zu Straßengestaltung, Verkehrsregelung, Crash-Informationen, Unfallhergang, Unfallursachen und den Folgen des Unfalls, wie Verletzungen der beteiligten Personen und Beschädigungen an den Fahrzeugen. Alle Informationen werden in anonymisierter Form in einer Datenbank gespeichert.

Die Auswertung der Daten erlaubt vielfältige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. So besteht bei der Neugestaltung von Gesetzen, Richtlinien und Normen die Möglichkeit, die Änderungen an das reale Unfallgeschehen anzupassen. Die Informationen dienen auch der Beschreibung geeigneter Prüfverfahren im Rahmen der Typgenehmigungen. Detailerkenntnisse können aber auch für die Fahrzeughersteller selbst von Nutzen sein und dabei helfen, das Sicherheitsniveau nochmals zu erhöhen.

Auch bei der Aufstellung von Verkehrszeichen, Masten u. ä. bis hin zum Anordnen von Schutzsystemen für Kollisionen mit Bäumen können die GIDAS-Daten wertvolle Hilfestellung geben - im Dienste einer immer besseren Verkehrssicherheit.

zur Übersicht Arbeitsgebiete und Themen

Erstveröffentlichung: 06.05.2008 Letzte Aktualisierung: 18.10.2013